We do a ceremony every New Moon that involves, among many other things, food – a meal consisting of one red food, one white food, and one black food. We decided back when we first started doing this that very dark chocolate counts as black food, so usually black and red are dark chocolate and red wine. This means that someone has to come up with an interesting white food every month.

We missed the actual new moon this month because one of our group is hard at work on a dissertation and has had no time until tonight. My husband called me at work today to let me know that I needed to make a white food tonight. I had a marinated artichoke salad in mind for the Artichoke Battle, but I did a quick revise in my head and told my husband to start soaking some white beans right away.

Marinated Artichoke and White Bean Soup

About two cups of cooked white beans
1 jar marinated artichoke hearts
2 cloves garlic, chopped
Lemon juice
Fresh basil and lemon thyme (very fresh – picked from the containers on the porch)
Pepper
Salt
Grated Parmesan cheese

Drain the liquid from the artichokes into the pan and heat. Add garlic, basil and thyme and let them all do their thing for a little while. Add beans, artichokes and about 2 cups of water. Let it all got hot. No actual cooking has to occur here, but it’s a soup and ought to be hot. Add salt, pepper, lemon juice and cheese and puree with an immersion blender.

It came out looking very creamy and white. I love pureed soups for the variety of flavors you can get all in one bite, and this one was no exception.

Response:

Mr. Nettle said , “Good, but not as good as what you did last night. A little bland” (personally I think his taste buds must be broken to call this “bland’ because it had this nice tart lemony/artichoke thing happening, but there you go)

Friend said: “Nice balance of flavors – the earthiness of the beans balances out the zing of the other ingredients.”

My impression: Agreed that it’s not as good as Round 1, but I’m still quite happy with it. I tried a bite about two hours after the meal and found that it improved with sitting. I think a night in the fridge would really allow the artichoke flavor to soak into the beans.

