Here it is already the 8th and I’ve been merrily posting away without a “Goals” post. One of the advantages of composing these is that it makes me go back to look at the requirements on the AODA page and adjust my activities accordingly, so staying on track.

The element of Earth represents the material basis of existence, and in the Second Degree curriculum it refers especially to the foundations of Druid training as presented in the curriculum of the First Degree.” – from the AODA second degree curriculum (all quotes are from that page.)

Goals – Once a week, go for a walk with the intention of better connecting to the local environment. Do the appropriate gardening tasks for April (cleaning up, planting peas, preparing beds). Turn OFF my computer when not using it in order to save power – I’m looking around for areas in my life where I’m wasteful and this is one.

Go to Llyn Hydd Beltaine, which is on the 29th this month, and my pagan group’s Beltaine, which is on the 28th – I know Beltaine is technically May but both groups are doing the weekend thing for convenience. My personal Beltaine ceremony will be in May.

Daily meditation

The element of Water represents the emotions, and in the Druid tradition it also relates to growth and the development of wisdom.

Continue with the Difficult Questions series of blog posts, either from Sylvan’s book or from other sources I may come across.

Work on starting that study group.

The element of Air represents the intellect, the dawn ray of illumination that brings clarity and insight to the mind.

Write that review of Piggott that I meant to do last month. Continue examining the history and practices of the ADF. Read up on Welsh mythology.

The element of Spirit represents the hub of the turning wheel of the elements, the transcendent dimension around which all else takes shape”

I’ve recently gotten interested in the American transcendentalists, Emerson and Thoreau and such, and I want to read some more on that. I want to reread “Self Reliance” from the perspective of a modern American student of druidry.

“A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds, adored by little statesmen and philosophers and divines. With consistency a great soul has simply nothing to do. He may as well concern himself with his shadow on the wall. Speak what you think now in hard words, and to-morrow speak what to-morrow thinks in hard words again, though it contradict every thing you said to-day. — ‘Ah, so you shall be sure to be misunderstood.’ — Is it so bad, then, to be misunderstood? Pythagoras was misunderstood, and Socrates, and Jesus, and Luther, and Copernicus, and Galileo, and Newton, and every pure and wise spirit that ever took flesh. To be great is to be misunderstood.” – seems very appropriate for this work, somehow.

Spirals –

Music – keep plugging away at the tinwhistle.

Divination – I got through the whole Ogham doing a nightly meditation on each one last month. Now, I want to do something a little more involved – an Ogham a month. According to an Ogham calender I found online, April is associated with Huath, the Hawthorn. So this month is Huath. I have no idea if the calendar I found has any particular “legitimacy” but it seems as good an organizing priniciple for what I’m doing as any other.

Fiber craft – practice more knitting. I’m working on a very light, airy blue spring shawl right now, and would like to finish that.

Healing – my husband tore a ligament in his knee last week, and I’m determined to help him fix it without surgery (though if he decides he wants surgery, that’s OK with me – it’s his knee, after all. As of right now, he doesn’t and is perfectly willing to follow instructions. We’ll see.)

