Kay, over at Songs of Unforgetting, tagged me with the “Eight Random Facts” meme. These are the rules:

  • Post eight random facts about yourself.
  • Tag eight other bloggers (hopefully those who haven’t been tagged before).
  • Post these rules.

#1: I overanalyze things. For example, when I saw these rules, the first thing I considered was how to properly randomize facts about myself. I mean, if I self-select which facts to present, then they’re not random and I’m not following the rules. I gave serious thought to this, and almost gave up on participating because I couldn’t figure out how. It took me a bit to get that I was misunderstanding the point, and the use of the word “random.”

I do this all the time. It is nearly as irritating to myself as it is to others.

#2 I am currently eating an absolutely delicious piece of duck prepared with a honey-ginger-chili-red wine glaze (I’ll post the recipe, if someone asks.) I love to cook and to make interesting and elaborate dishes, but I rarely do it for others because no one I know appreciates that kind of cooking (“can’t you just put ketchup on it or something?”) My husband does appreciate it but he doesn’t eat meat very often. I blew the whole week’s budget for meat on this one piece of free-range, local organic duck. It’s worth it.

#3 I dance both for exercise and as a spiritual practice. I love belly dance and have made up choreography for unexpected music choices. T Rex is great for belly dance. Seriously, try it sometime. I think I’ve put something together for almost every track on “Electric Warrior.”

No, you can’t see it.

# 4 I am a language nerd, among the many other different types of nerd that I am. I majored in Classical Studies in college and have taken more years of Ancient Greek than is really excusable for an undergraduate (I was part time for a bit so I racked up many semesters of Greek.) I also read Latin and French. I’m working on Welsh.

#5 I have a lifelong obsession with Sherlock Holmes. I do not remember when or where this started. As long as I can remember, I have had a thing for Sherlock, going back to at least the age of seven. I have to watch any books, movies, TV shows, etc., that are created along a Holmesian line, even if I know they will be awful. I keep expecting to outgrow this but it hasn’t happened. I can reread the original stories endlessly even though I know them almost by heart already.

I don’t understand this. They’re good stories, the characters are interesting, but they are honestly not all that great and there are other good stories and interesting characters out there that I do not obsess over. I don’t even like mystery stories, as a genre, all that much.

#6 I have two cats. They are both white. I adore them. The white kitty face that show up on my blog is a third white cat, Hobbit, who died last year. She was small and lithe and white and adorable. Her surviving sisters are close to twenty pounds each and are basically balls of fat with fur. They rarely move, but they purr all the time.

#7 I want to move out of the city to someplace remote in the north, either northern New England or Canada. My ancestors are from New Brunswick – they were Acadians and came among the first groups of immigrants, so my people have been living in a cold climate for four centuries now. I live too far south, and I want to get back to the north. I will get there within the next five years, probably sooner rather than later.

I’ll let you know when this happens.

#8 Ooh, last one. I am part of an excellent and amazing Druid grove, and we had our Solstice ceremony today, which was excellent and amazing. I am so happy to have found such a terrific group of people.

Okay, now I have to tag eight people. Hmmm

Maebius: Eight things I don’t already know. Please?

Ali because I think you’re neat and want to know more about you.

Mam Adar for pretty much the same reason.

Anne because if you play along you’ll probably write something funny (though that is not an obligation)

Dianne Sylvan because I like your books

Eir’s Initiate because I only just saw today that you’re linking to me

Gia because I love the name of your blog

and, the long shot, Varulv, because you’ve barely written anything in your blog – here’s an excuse.

