Religion and fiction are cozy, happy bedfellows all over the place. I can’t see the picture well enough – is she wearing an ankh?

I’ve been down with strep throat all week. It’s finally going away since I decided to join the 21st century and take some antibiotics. I didn’t wait to take them out of some primitivist urge to do without modern medicine, but only because I assumed, as I always do, that I wasn’t really all that sick and was just trying to get out of something. This is a sign of a fully internalized parental figure, I guess. I spent lots of time reading in bed, though.

I’m working on reading Mists of Avalon again, and I’m being reminded of why I could never get more than a few pages into it ever before. I’m further along than I have ever gotten, but it’s a weary, humorless slog, and one-dimensional characters keep droning at me to just stop, put the book down, and fall asleep. I’m determined to read it because the subject matter is of great interest to me, and so many people who seem otherwise intelligent and interesting claim that it is a Great Book and Highly Influential. I’m kept going by the bits of 20th-century occultism Bradley keeps dropping like little breadcrumbs all through the text. I think it’s really interesting that the author chose to wrote a novel like this on such a basis. I just wish the book itself was as interesting. I don’t like any of the characters and I think a real priestess of Avalon would have tossed these girls in the mud. Oh well. I had hoped I would like it better this time. I do think it’s worth writing a paper on, but it’s no fun. Maybe it will get better…

For fun, instead, I reread Good Omens for the umpteenth time. “You can’t second-guess ineffability, I always say.”

I’m also reading Brendan Cathbad Myers’ Mysteries of Druidry, which I’m enjoying. He works with the myths and lore of Ireland, and he has a practical approach that I appreciate. I’m very practical in my mysticism, and Myers always talks about the practical, modern applications of the old stories and ideas.

I’ve been interested in energy healing for a long time, but the only techniques I knew about were Reiki-based. I have seen some remarkable results from people using Reiki, but the whole pyramid-scheme way it is disseminated puts me off so much that I don’t want to learn it. Unfortunately I find that the whole energy-healing industry has a hucksterish air. I did come across this book, Quantum Touch, and it seemed more straightforward and less like a sales pitch than other things on the topic (in spite of the annoyingly meaningless trendy use of the word “quantum,” which has nothing to do with anything in the book.)  (and, now that I see the website, it has that same commercial newage slick that rubs me all the wrong way.) Well, anyway, in spite of all this, the technique is simple, easy to learn, and from limited testing on my husband and cats, seems to be effective for promoting relaxation and taking away minor pains. Of course, it’s no great trick to relax a cat, especially my cats, who are somewhere on the Glasgow coma scale in their normal waking state. I’m going to keep working with it, though. I like it.

I also did an enormous amount of knitting. I’m really good at bedrest.

