I signed up for NaNoWriMo this year – National Novel Writing Month! The idea is to write a 50,000 word novel between Nov. 1 and Nov. 30. I am doing this totally by the seat-of-the-pants method, deliberately NOT having anything kind of a plot in mind, just letting it happen. I started out with a farm girl in a quasi-medieval setting waking up in the morning, and nothing more in mind than that. I’m just watching her to see what she does. 1800 words in and I think I already have two more major characters that kind of wandered in. No outline, no pot, not even a real idea of what sort of person my main character is – if she even stays the main character…. I am taking it on faith that a plot will happen.

Here’s my profile page, where I’ll keep a running word count.

There’s an excerpt there, too. The whole thing with Caleb was totally unexpected, but I think I have a pretty good idea about what Jenny is going to do. This is totally unedited off-the-cuff writing (like anyone who reads this blog is used to, because I’m a lazy lazy person when it comes to editing my own stuff) and it’s really fun. The title and genre are given because the profile asked for those fields. Right now it could become either fantasy or historical fiction pretty easily, and the title given is a completely irrelevant spaceholder.

Any other NaNoWriMo’er’s out there (Maebius, I’m looking at you right now) feel free to buddy me. The site is running slow tonight so I haven’t played around with the social aspect of it very much.

nanowrimo icon

