It’s horrifically hot out and we’ve spent all weekend lying around fanning ourselves and resisting the temptation to turn on the air conditioning, and drinking this delicious elderflower thing that I made this week. It was so good that I need to write down here how I made it so I can do it again. We had a couple of branches from the big elderberry tree blow down in a storm last week, so on Thursday I was out in the dark and the rain with a pair of scissors and bag, cutting off elderflowers from the downed branches before they could wilt or fall off. Since they were unplanned and wet, they weren’t really suitable for drying (my dryer is otherwise occupied and it’s really not good to start with wet umbels, since they can mold up that way.) So I made this elderflower… thing.

Rinse the elderflowers. Take a big jar (I think the one I used was about a gallon and a half) and fill with the elderflowers. Slice up some lemons and limes, add those, and add about a pound of sugar (next time I will use less.) Fill the jar with boiling water and seal the lid. Let it cool, then put it in the back of the fridge for a few days. Strain out the solids and mix with water (about 3 parts water to 1 part elderflower yum.) I used a little too much lime and a little too much sugar, so the elderflowers are slightly overpowered and I will probably use less next time (as in, next week when I do this again because it will be gone in no time) but wow does this make a refreshing hot weather drink.

