Mahud tagged me with the Happiness meme that’s going around. Here are the rules:
• Link to the person who gave the award to you.
• Post the rules on your blog.
• List six things that make you happy.
• Tag six people at the end of your post and link to them.
• Let each person know they’ve been tagged and leave a comment on their blog
• Let the person who awarded you know when your entry is up.

Here are my six things:

1. The feeling Emerson describes here: “The greatest delight which the fields and woods minister, is the suggestion of an occult relation between man and the vegetable. I am not alone and unacknowledged. They nod to me, and I to them. The waving of the boughs in the storm, is new to me and old. It takes me by surprise, and yet is not unknown. Its effect is like that of a higher thought or a better emotion coming over me, when I deemed I was thinking justly or doing right.”

2. Daily meditation practice. This makes me happy by an accumulated habit of mind that allows happiness to just be.

3. My marriage. Not my husband, mind, though he has status along with kittens and chocolate in my hierarchy of pleasant things, but the actual structure and commitment of the relationship – that we have this committed bond, assumed voluntarily, to stand together in partnership as our own self-defined unit within and yet apart from the world.

4. My religion. This kind of goes along with 1 and 2, but again, it’s not so much “my beliefs, practices and feelings that relate to Druidry” that I’m talking about here, as it is “locating myself within a particular community of philosophy and practice.” Here, I’m talking about my relationship with others in this group – the things we talk about, the rituals we do together, that sort of thing.

5. My gods. This is different from 4, because I’m really talking about the gods themselves and the relationship there. They would be there even if the religion wasn’t, if that makes sense. Whatever else happened, whatever I might lack or fear, the gods are there no matter what.

6. The regular opportunity for solitude.

OK, next up – Maebius, Meme, the Kitchen Witch, Kelly, Mam Adar, and Erik.

